Skip to content

Becoming Mindful

November 11, 2010
tags:

When I was in junior high I read, on average, a book a day.  Those were mainly fiction.  Nowadays I very rarely read novels, nor can I make it through books at such a rate.  However, I am probably one of the local library’s most active patrons– I currently have 29 items checked out!   As an adult I’ve become an avid reader of non-fiction, but recently I’ve noticed a shift from reading travel memoirs and arctic history to delving into books on various topics that could be tied together under the idea of rethinking everyday choices.  How can the decisions I make about the things I eat, buy, or do be more environmentally friendly, healthy, and/or  ethical? A lot of this information has been floating around for years, but for the most part I didn’t really try to do anything about it.  But now  I’ve realised that making changes, some simple, some requiring a lot more effort and commitment, can make my life kinder to myself, others, and the planet.  And that is the way I want to live.

This blog was born out of the desire to communicate the things that I’m learning, because anytime I try to talk about what I am reading I always forget important details!  The aim of Becoming Mindful is to give an introduction to a topic and discuss the ways I am trying to personally address the issue. When relevant I will be doing product reviews and book reviews. I also want to provide you with resources to further educate yourself through print and online sources.

I encourage my readers to comment!  Let me know what you think about the issues raised—do you agree that we should be concerned?  Is there something more about a certain topic that you want to know?  Will you be making changes based on this knowledge or have you already made changes in the past?   Or, am I, as my mum suggested, getting carried away? 😉

Some examples of future topics are:

BPA

Fair trade

Genetically modified food

Green cleaning

Localvorism

Organics

Phthalates

Processed food

Reducing, reusing, recycling

Vegetarianism/veganism/selective omnivorism

Etc.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2010 9:39 pm

    Yeah! First comment, baby!

    Have you read Not Buying It? It’s about a woman who goes a year without buying anything that isn’t “necessary”. It is admittedly not the best book ever, but it is a pretty thought-provoking look at consumerism.

    • November 11, 2010 10:13 pm

      I haven’t read it, but I just checked and my library has it so I’ll add it to my list.

Leave a Reply

