Skip to content

Update: BPA-free Cans

January 30, 2011

Today I checked ConAgra’s website (maker of Orville Redenbacher’s popcorn) to see if there was any news that they had removed PFCs from their microwave popcorn bags (in 2006 the company promised it would make studies concerning that a high priority.)  There was no mention of perfluorinated compounds, however, I did discover that they have begun packaging their tomato products in BPA-free cans.  This includes Hunt’s and Rotel brand tomatoes.  That’s good to hear!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2011 7:36 pm

    Good thing…since I just bought some Hunts yesterday.

    • February 2, 2011 7:10 pm

      Normally I buy the much cheaper store-brand… but in this situation I am willing to spend more, especially since tomato products absorb a lot of BPA from the can.

  2. March 24, 2011 2:07 pm

    How can you be so sure that they’ve really done something to change, and that they haven’t changed to something more hazardous?

    • March 24, 2011 6:14 pm

      As I said in my post, I am going by what they said on their website. Of course I can’t be sure; I’m not a ConAgra scientist testing the can linings. You can read more about it in this Omaha World-Herald article. According to the article, “Some of the substitutes are polyester-based linings, polyester coatings or plant oil-based linings” and “Over the last two to three years… ConAgra has tested more than 40,000 types of can linings, representing 380 different variables, eight different coating suppliers and four different can suppliers.” I am not an expert, but in my opinion BPA is a known hazard, so I will gladly choose a subsitute can-liner when it is available, and trust that it is a safer option until it is proven otherwise.

  3. November 5, 2015 8:23 pm

    OMG really?? I LOVE Rotel. I was sad to give it up when I started eating healthier but after reading this I might look into buying it again.

Leave a Reply

